Dorie’s chocolate chocolate cupcakes

I think I was a little late to the table when it came to appreciating who Dorie Greenspan was. Over the years I’d seen her name on lots of websites and blogs and sort of knew that there was a blog dedicated to followers of her cookbook (Tuesdays with Dorie), but it wasn’t until quite recently that I recognised the extent of her reputation and celebrity.  It was only after I had baked my new favourite raspberry and ricotta muffins, the ones that just get better and better and never go wrong, tens of times and then realised that my other favourite lemon poppy seed muffin was also from her that I wanted to know more.  It was then that I started to investigate who she was and discovered that she has been a cookbook writer for over 20 years, publishing ten cookbooks, winning a host of prestigious awards and having the privilege of working with the likes of ground-breaking American TV chef Julia Child and Master French Pâtissier Pierre Hermé! Wow, shame on me for not finding out who she was sooner!

As I guess baking’s sort of what I do, my first logical Greenspan purchase would be Dorie’s celebrated volume, BAKING From my home to yours.  Not available from my local bookstores I asked a friend who was going to New York if she would mind picking it up for me.  What I didn’t realize was that the heaving volume published in 2006 (told you I was a bit late) holds over 300 recipes, is almost 12 inches tall and weighs a whopping 5 pounds – Kudos to DiviaH for lugging that thing 8000miles – I owe you darling!

To celebrate my new acquisition I figured I should bake.  But what?  They all looked so very delicious and bake worthy.  So I decided to be practical, always on the lookout for ideas for a new project, my next mission (for an occasion in December) is to find a luscious new chocolate cupcake.  Something rich, decadent and grown up so when I spotted Dorie’s Chocolate Chocolate cupcake I thought I was on the right track.  What resulted was a dark, rich cupcake that was almost crumbly in texture.  It tasted similar to a molten chocolate pudding, probably due to melted chocolate and the top was crackled and firmer than the soft tender insides. I topped it with my usual crème fraîche Ganache (although this time I tried plain old sour cream – turned out great!) and it made for a lovely afternoon treat.

Dorie’s Chocolate Chocolate Cupcakes

– adapted (barely) from BAKING From my home to yours

Makes 24 cupcakes

  • 2 cups (250g) flour
  • ½ cup (60g) cocoa powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (225g) butter
  • 1 ½ cups (300g) sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup (250ml) yogurt (original recipe calls for buttermilk)
  • 4oz (100g) dark chocolate – melted and cooled
  • Ganache Recipe Here

  • Preheat oven to 180°C/350°F – Line 2 x 12 muffin tin cups.

  • Sift the dry ingredients, flourcocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt into a bowl and set aside.

  • Using a stand mixer, begin to cream the butter, add the sugar steadily and mix on medium speed until fully incorporated, smooth and airy.  Scrape down the bowl as necessary.
  • Add the eggs one at a time, beating between each addition.  Add the vanilla.

  • On the lowest speed, stir in half the dry ingredients until just mixed.  Mix in the yogurt and then the rest of the dry ingredients again, just mixing until incorporated.
  • Finally add the cooled melted chocolate and give it a good stir with a rubber spatula.
  • Divide between 24 muffin cups.  Bake for 22 – 25 mins until the tops are springy and a cake tester inserted into the cake comes out clean.

This entry was published on October 16, 2012 at 10:27 am. It’s filed under afternoon tea, chocolate, cupcake and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Dorie’s chocolate chocolate cupcakes

  1. These look so good! I’m a major chocoholic & these would definitely hit the spot. I just need to see if I can adapt them to be gluten-free! :-)

  2. All you owe me is a batch of these! yum yum. Always happy to help out a sister..xxx

  3. Yay!!! So glad you have a new post! I LOVEEE the frosting job on these cupcakes. I can totally relate about being late to the Dorie Greenspan party…I see her name everywhere online, but I still haven’t baked a recipe of hers! I feel sadly behind the times, but someday…

    In any case, BEAUTIFUL cupcakes!!!

  4. Deirdre griffin on said:

    Loved the lemon and poppy seed cake, waiting to try the chocolate cupcakes

  5. These look great!! Kudos to your friend for lugging it over! I recently placed an order from Amazon for some baking books too & not only will it take around 2 months for delivery, the fee was extremely hefty! :( Still, a price well paid for living near my precious palm trees. I can’t wait to try them!

    • you’re gonna be so excited when they finally get there! I never know where to start when mine arrive! :) (BTW have you tried amazon.co.uk? the postage is pretty reasonable – check it out!)

Leave me a message?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 345 other followers