wholewheat cinnamon sultana scones

As you well know, I’m a purist when it comes to scones and was delighted to be able to share my family recipe with you a few months back.  I have nevertheless been keen to try something different and new and seeing as scones are probably one of the speediest and straightforward items you could bake I figured I should give it a go.  I love sultanas in baked goods (though hundreds don’t), I am particularly partial to cinnamon and heck, shouldn’t everyone be including more whole grains in their diets?  This definitely seemed like the recipe for me!

For a wholewheat recipe, I couldn’t have been happier with the results (I wouldn’t expect anything less from Delia’s tried and tested recipes) – beautifully tall scones that were almost gingerbread brown in colour.  The cinnamon is particularly prominent despite only a nominal amount being added and personally when I make them next I would probably double the amount of sugar to better balance that cinnamon flavour. My afternoon tea taste testers however felt that this would be unnecessary and thought they were quite fine the way they were!

Although scones really are quite simple (you can have them prepped and baked in less than 30 mins) it has taken me a number of years to get it just right. After much instruction and advice from my mum (master scone maker) I thought I should share some top tips so you too can have perfect scones in a jiffy!

Top Tips for Scone Making & Baking

Handle the dough as little as you can – it says roll but actually it’s more like a roll then a pat.

Make sure your flour is fresh (you need your raising agents at their best!)

Don’t roll/pat the dough out too thin.  The greedy in you wants to cut more scones but the sensible in you says quality not quantity.  Always an inch or more thick.

Don’t cut giant scones (unless you really really want to) – small are better because they look even taller (desirable) and people can help themselves to another!

Two words – HOT OVEN – I’ll say that again HOT OVEN.

Always bake on the day of serving – for best results preferably from oven to table… to tummy!

Wholewheat Cinnamon Sultana Scones

From the classic, Delia Smith’s Complete Illustrated Cookery Course – Makes 16/18  2” scones
  • 150g (6oz) wholewheat flour
  • 150g (6oz) self-raising flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 50g (2oz) brown sugar
  • 50g (2oz) butter
  • 100g (4oz) sultanas
  • 2 eggs
  • 80ml (1/3 cup) milk

  • Preheat oven to 220°C/425°F (this is as hot as my oven goes!) and line a large baking tray with greaseproof paper/silpat etc.
  • Beat the eggs with the milk.
  • Sift the flours, baking powder, cinnamon and sugar into a large mixing bowl – throw any bran still in the sieve back in the bowl.

  • Rub in the butter – this feels strange and a little grainy/sticky as butter is usually rubbed in before the sugar is added but it is fine.  Mix in the sultanas.
  • Add the egg and milk mixture to the dry ingredients and mix into smooth dough with a palette knife.  Add more milk if still dry.  You may have to actually knead the ball a couple of times with your hands – obviously wholewheat dough will never be as smooth as that made with just plain flour.

  • Dust rolling pin and surfaces and roll dough out the thickness of approx. 2.5cm/1inch or just thicker.
  • Cut scones out.  I always cut plain scones round and fruit scones fluted – family tradition I guess.  These fluted cutters were such a great buy – round too!  No twisting.

  • Knead the trimmings back into a ball and roll again, continue to cut until all the dough has been used.
  • Dust with a little flour and bake on a high shelf for 15 – 20 min.  They should be tall, brown and tap like a drum when done.

Serve these rustic beauties warm, with lashings of good quality butter and marmalade or honey.

This entry was published on October 23, 2012 at 10:46 am. It’s filed under afternoon tea, scones, top tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “wholewheat cinnamon sultana scones

  1. These look delicious, love the addition of cinnamon :-)

  2. So cute and puffy! You’re right–that doesn’t seem like a lot of cinnamon at all. But I’m sure they’re delicious. I must make these soon, I’ve been craving scones for forever!!

  3. Wow! These are beautiful. And what an interesting name – sultana scones.

  4. They look really good,

  5. These look fabulous.. I love the whole wheat flour:)

Leave me a message?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 351 other followers