smitten kitchen’s red wine chocolate cake

The one blogger that has not only kept me coming back, in this fickle and ever-changing realm that is the blogosphere, but amused, entertained, informed as well as providing me with a wealth of recipes (that actually work! – beautifully!) is Deb from smitten kitchen.  She’s awesome.  She’s probably known as a super blogger or über blogger or something because not only does she blog like a boss, she takes gorgeous photos and also has about a zillion fans – oh dear… does that make me a bloupie?

This month also marks the launch of her first cookbook (woohoo! on pre order here) so I thought I would celebrate with a bit of a tribute post of sorts, that I will now have to split in two and continue tomorrow as it has grown to be a ridiculouslylonganddrawnout post!  How dramatic. Deb commemorated her 5 year anniversary of smitten kitchen with this red wine chocolate cake and as I had a quarter bottle of pinot noir (don’t ask) that needed using, I thought it perfect.

This is the second time I have made this cake and if I’m to be honest it is a touch dry for me though it seems plenty love it.  To compensate and balance however I like to serve it with lashings of crème fraîche and find raspberries complement the dark vino fruity richness of the cake almost too well.

So on with the applause – stay tuned as tomorrow I’ll be posting my all time smitten kitchen favourites in cakebook’s very own… drum roll please… Smitten Kitchen Hall Of Fame – See you then!

(find red wine chocolate cake recipe in smitten kitchen’s original post here)
This entry was published on May 10, 2012 at 2:07 pm. It’s filed under celebration, chocolate and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “smitten kitchen’s red wine chocolate cake

  1. Oh my… This looks so yummy. This is definitely going on my “must bake” list.

  2. Red wine, rich chocolate cake, a generous dollop of creme fraiche and a handful of raspberries. What more do you need? This looks absolutely delicious. Thanks for sharing your take on the recipe. Looking forward to your smitten kitchen hall of fame

Leave me a message?